Crystal Brook wins Under 16 final

The Rocky River Junior Cricket Association held their Under 16 grand final at the Melrose Showgrounds on Saturday.

Melrose, who had won all of their games during the year, played Crystal Brook, who struggled early in the season, with numbers and form, but appreciated the efforts of the Port Pirie contingent, who ended up making them a very competitive unit.

In the 25 over grand final, Crystal Brook batted first putting 135 on the board for the loss of 6 wickets.

Leo Coates was in form with the bat putting 29 runs in the book followed by other significant performers, Owen Fuchs with 26 runs and opener Tom Kerin with 24.

Melrose bowler Declan McCallum took 2 wickets for 11, along with Tyson Woolford who also managed 2 wickets at the expense of 27 runs.

For Melrose Kodi Carey was best with the bat slogging off two magnificent fours and making a total of 13, Lachie McCallum wasn’t far behind him with 12 runs, next best was Tait Lambert with 9 runs.

For Crystal Brook, Tom Kerin snagged 3 wickets for 8 runs and had support from Josh Clements with 2 for 1, Owen Fuchs 1 for 5 and Leo Coates 1 for 6, Jack Tiller and Hugh Jackson also claimed a wicket each.

At the completion of the match Aggregate Bowling, Fielding and Batting Awards, plus the Glenn Gum Perpetual Trophy for the Cricketer of the Year, were presented by the Vice President of the Rocky River Junior Cricket Association Steve Merkel.

Melrose player Declan McCallum, who had a fantastic season with the bat and the ball as well as in the field, was the recipient of all four of these awards.

Steve also presented the Crystal Brook boys with their Premiership Medals.


Declan McCallum    18

Will Bowman        13

Will Seddon        13

Will Smart        12

Frazer Blieschke      9


Declan McCallum    18

Cooper Woolford    14

Will Smart        14

Riley Davenport    12

Declan Wells        12


Declan McCallum    282

Riley Hayes        242

Tom Kerin        226

Will Seddon        204

Frazer Blieschke    191

Cricketer of the Year

Declan McCallum    21

Cooper Woolford    16

Will Seddon        13

Will Smart        10

Frazer Blieschke    10