Marathon marks 10 years

After having to change the date due to other regional events, and despite the reduced numbers, a happy and successful tenth anniversary Orroroo Half Marathon was held on Sunday, April 2.

A cool breezy morning greeted us early, but the sun and blue skies greeted the runners and walkers as they set out from the Orroroo Town Hall for their designated distance.

Peter Amey acted as race starter for the morning.

The 68 competitors in the three distances were greeted with manned drink stations, and the helpful encouragement of Grant Chapman at the 5km turnaround, Andrea and Mel Martin at the 10km turn around, and Kay and Col Parkyn at the two 21km drink stations.

The 21k Walk started at 8am with two walkers starting out whilst the weather was still quite cool and breezy.

Jacqui Princi and Susan Barrie walked the distance step for step and finished in 3:22:24.

The 21km Run was highlighted with the participation of a Storm Trooper and Elvis.

In celebration of our 10th anniversary race Frank Parkes and Richard Jones from Port Augusta disguised themselves as these popular characters, and ran the distance in full costume.

They caused much fun at the starting line as photos and selfies were taken with them.

A first time runner, Tyler Burrowes, from Largs Bay won the run in a time of 1:28:50, and he was followed in by Nadine Gillett from Loxton in 1:37:20.

Nadine was followed across the line by the Storm Trooper (Frank Parkes) who was 8 seconds behind her.

The 10km Run was led across the finishing line by Andrew Kuerschner, closely followed by the female winner, Ellie Packard of Port Augusta with times of 45:46:00 and 46:25:86 respectively.

Samuel Pitkin was the first secondary student home in 55:31:93.

The 10km walk was won by Raymond Murray of Gawler in 1:25:21, with Ros Di Paolo from Port Augusta the first female in 1:25:28.

Charlie Froling was the fastest runner in the 5km run crossing the line in 22:36:85.

He finished ahead of Open Male winners Aiden Lee and Damien Ellery who crossed together in 25:12:86.

The Female Open winner was Jodie Bowman (26:43:00) who was closely followed by Primary Student Lucy Reddaway (29:03:62).

Luke Ellery and Verity Dray crossed the 5-kilometre walk together.

Peter and Wendy Amey acted as timers, along with an Adelaide visitor and usual competitor Barb Spencer, and Annette and Di Barrie.

The Orroroo “Bakeroos” conducted a very successful pop up bakery during the morning and the Orroroo Hospital Auxiliary Trading Table was also kept busy too.

The Lions barbecue fired up later in the morning for lunch time customers.  

Many local businesses were open and busy, offering giftware and clothing, snacks, coffee and meals.

The race organisers would like to thank the CFS volunteers who acted as road wardens, and the Port Augusta St John First Aid Unit who attended, and thankfully were not required for any injuries.

The Orroroo Carrieton District Council managed the road closures and detours, and patrolled the road to assist runners if required, and their support was also much appreciated. Many thanks also to John Mannion who took the photographs of the event.

Orroroo Australia Day Citizen of the Year, Lyn Bollinger presented the trophies and medals to the winners of the various races.

The Primary Students who completed their distance all received a medal as an incentive from Lisa Sartorio Physiotherapy of Jamestown.

A big thank you to all the Orroroo and regional businesses who sponsored prizes and services for the day.

Although a smaller event than previous years, there was much good will from competitors, and positive feedback from new runners on the race and the venue.

Organisers said they would try to host another event in 2018, so keep an eye out for the date.