Best footballers chase title

This weekend, July 7 and 8, the best of the state’s rural footballers will arrive in the Riverland for the 2018 SA Country Football Championships with all matches being played at Renmark Oval.

For the first time, after an exhibition game last year at Johnstone Park in Murray Bridge, there will be an inaugural women's competition with five zones sending participants.

South Australian National Football League community football manager Matt Duldig said the competition would give leading rural female footballers the opportunity to test their skills against the best country competitors across the state.

“It is fantastic to provide women with the opportunity to play at the championships,’’ Duldig said.

It is fantastic to provide women with the opportunity to play at the championships.

Matt Duldig, SANFL

‘’We have all seen how popular Australian football has become through the advent of AFLW and the SANFL Statewide Super Women’s League so it is great to see an extension of that.’’

On the men's side, Murray-South East Zone will be looking to win an unequalled third-consecutive title under this format and the stewardship of country football icon, Adam ‘Hogget’ Merrett from Penola. Another long-term servant at this level, Barry Pilmore, will coach Southern Zone again while successful and undefeated former SA Country coach Steve Lubcke is in charge of Central Zone. 

Former Southern Flinders footballer and coach Scott Brand is in charge of Northern Zone for a fifth year as they try to take their first title while another state country footballer with All-Australian honours, Leigh Kruger, is in charge of Eastern Zone. 

For the Eyre Peninsula (Western Zone) team, long-term player and administrator, Scott Feltus is in charge.

On Saturday the men will play two matches, each comprising 15-minute halves, with the undefeated teams playing in the grand final to culminate in the titles on Sunday afternoon.

After the championship, a team of the carnival will be selected and this will form the nucleus of the team for the SA Country state game against Western Australia at Adelaide Oval on Sunday, July 28.

The championships have previously hosted future AFL footballers such as Corey Enright, Bernie Vince, Mason Redman and Tim O'Brien.

Northern Areas Football Association will be represented in the Northern Zone team, along with Spencer Gulf League.


Renmark Oval – Group 1: Murray South East, Eastern, Central; Group 2: Southern Districts, Western, Northern

Saturday, July 7

10:00am – Western v Southern Districts

11:10am – Murray South East v Central

12:20pm – Southern Districts v Northern

1:30pm – Central v Eastern

2:40pm – Western v Northern

3:50pm – Eastern v Murray South East

Sunday, July 8

 8:00am Auskick Clinic

9:30am – 3rd in Group One v 3rd in Group Two

1:15am – 2nd in Group One v 2nd in Group Two

1:00pm – 1st in Group One v 1st in Group Two


Saturday, July 7 – (Renmark FC Oval 2)

9:15am – Central  v Eastern

10:00am – Northern  v Southern

10:45am  – South East v Central

11:30am – Eastern  v Northern

12:15pm – Southern v South East

1:00pm – Northern v Central

1:45pm – Southern v Eastern

2:30pm – South East v Northern

3:15pm – Central  v  Southern

4:00pm – Eastern v South East

Sunday, July 8 (Renmark FC Oval 2)

10am – 1st Ranked Team v 2nd Ranked Team