Combe brothers poll in 2018

Special publication

Crystal Brook centreman Campbell Combe has won the 2018 Northern Areas Football Association (NAFA) Sunday Mail Medal.

Combe polled in 13 games over the 16-round season for a total of 33 votes, made up of eight first preferences, four seconds and one third to become the first player to win three best and fairest medals in a row since Jamestown legend, the late John Kitschke won five consecutive medals between 1953 and 1957.

Southern Flinders half back-follower Joel Palmer was runner-up with 25 votes made up of four firsts, six seconds and a third.

Campbell Combe’s brother, Will, finished third with 20 votes.

Next came Aiden Lee (Orroroo, 15), Maddy Hayes (Broughton-Mundoora, 15), Luke Kapitola (Crystal Brook, 15) and Tom Moten (Orroroo, 13).

BMW’s best vote-catcher was Bradley Taylor with three first preferences for nine votes while Ben Woodall was Jamestown-Peterborough’s best with five votes.

The B-grade medal went to outsider Damien Stafford of Southern Flinders Tigers.

Click here to read the rest of this month's edition of the Crystal Brook Chronicle.

Click here to read the rest of this month's edition of the Crystal Brook Chronicle.

He polled four firsts and three seconds for 18 votes to finish ahead of runner-up, Shane Arbon of Crystal Brook with 16 votes and BMW’s Jordan Arthur (15).

Pre-count favourite, Jamestown-Peterborough’s Ryan Simpson, finished fourth with 13 votes, just in front of team mate Simon Jackson (12).

Crystal Brook did not have a senior colt in the running for that medal which went to BMW’s Barney Watkinson with 22 votes made up of four firsts, three seconds and four thirds.

Southern Flinders pair, Ben Treasure and Joel Ambjerg-Pedersen and Jamestown-Peterborough’s Jesse Larcombe all polled 17 votes and next was Kallis Freer from Broughton-Mundoora with 15 votes.

Crystal Brook’s best was Hugh Jackson with 12 votes

The Junior colts medal went to Broughton-Mundoora’s Bodhi Sims with a stunning 43 votes made up of 13 first preferences and two seconds from Joshua Hilder (Orroroo, 29), Jed Dignan (Orroroo, 26), Nick Wilsdon (Crystal Brook, 26) and Jack Kitschke (Jamestown-Peterborough, 25).

Click here to read the September edition of the Crystal Brook Chronicle.