Laura, Brook blitz rivals

For more sport news visit

For more sport news visit

There were no close games on the weekend in the Rocky River Cricket Association with Laura posting a 100 run win over Gladstone and Crystal Brook defeating Georgetown by 129 runs.

Crystal Brook v Georgetown

Crystal Brook won the toss and elected to bat, sending in their usual openers, Allan McArdle and Leo Coates.

The pair were unflappable, putting on 119 runs for the opening stand before Coates was finally bowled by Shane Ballantyne for 40.

However, the wicket offered no respite for Georgetown because Matt Gulin picked up where Coates had left off. McArdle and Gulin put on 83 runs together to take the total to 202.

Gulin was eventually dismissed for 44, caught by Sam Weckert off the bowling of Joel Zanker.

McArdle departed soon after, falling 3 runs short of a century to be caught by Riley Davenport off the bowling of Cody Robson for 97.

This was the first of 5 wickets for Robson who proceeded to tear through the Crystal Brook middle order.

Crystal Brook lost only 1 wicket to get to 200 runs but lost the other 9 in short order to be all out for 269. Cody Robson took 5/40/8.

Joel Zanker claimed 2/61/11 while Mackenzie Meaney snared a couple of wickets at the end of the innings to finish with 2/23/2. Shane Ballantyne finished with 1/53/7.

Georgetown’s run chase started poorly with opening batsman, Shane Ballantyne caught behind for 6 off the bowling of Tom Kerin with the score at 1/7.

Riley Davenport joined Robson at the crease and the pair put on 49 runs before Davenport was caught for 17 with the score at 2/56.

Joel Zanker was the next man in for Georgetown and he was able to stick around with Robson and contribute 14 runs toward a 71 run third wicket partnership.

Eventually, Robson tried one big shot too many and was caught at long off after making 73.

Robson’s wicket was the start of a collapse for Georgetown as they lost the next 7 wickets for only 13 runs. Georgetown were all out for 140, well short of Crystal Brook’s total of 269. Leo Coates was the destroyer, taking 7 wickets for 15 runs from 8 overs. Tom Kerin, Daniel Hill and Josh Clements all took 1 wicket apiece.

Laura v Gladstone

Laura batted first against Gladstone and started well, with openers Rick Willis and Jaran Turner putting on 42 runs together. Turner was the first wicket to fall, caught Riley Hennessy, bowled Jed Hennessy for 26.

Willis batted through virtually the entire innings, building partnerships with other batsmen along the way. Andrew Fleming was able to contribute 10 runs to the total before he was caught behind off the bowling of Riley Hayes with the score at 2/61.

Michael Gaunt’s 17 runs took the total to 114 and 13 from Sam Zanker helped Laura to 4/183. Willis was finally dismissed, caught by Nathan May off the bowling of Riley Hennessy for 125.

Dale Tenney made a handy 20 not out to take the total to 6/247 at the end of the innings. Riley Hennessy claimed the wickets of Willis, Gaunt and Brand to finish with 3/62/11. Jed Hennessy, Riley Hayes and F Hayes took 1 wicket each.

Gladstone’s opening batsmen, Dylan Hansen and Jamie Davidson set about chasing down Laura’s total but hit a snag when Davidson was caught by Jackson Brand off the bowling of Scott Brand for 9 with the score at 1/26.

Riley Hennessy contributed 12 runs to take his side’s total to 2/50 before he was caught off a Rick Willis delivery.

Kieran Glenn then joined Hansen at the crease and the pair put on 78 runs for the third wicket.

Glenn was finally caught off the bowling of Dale Tenney for 43 with the score at 3/128. Tenney took his next wicket before Gladstone could make any addition to the score, dismissing Hansen for 60.

Jed Hennessy was able to contribute 13 runs to the run chase but didn’t receive any help as Gladstone’s bottom 6 batsmen could only manage 3 runs between them.

Gladstone slumped to be all out for 147, well short of Laura’s total of 247.  Dale Tenney was the best of Laura’s bowlers, taking 4/14/3 while Scott Brand finished with 3/19/8. Rick Willis and Jaran Turner took 1 wicket each.